CCIRA Conference on Reading 2015… Reflections and Noticings….

ccira pic

MY TOP TEN TAKE AWAYS FROM THE 2015 CCIRA CONFERENCE

  • Mentor texts can be trade-books or kid writing…save your kid writing!
  • Make good choices…choose the invited presenters for your first session of each day
  • Renew my CCIRA membership…support the Colorado Council of the International Reading Association
  • Get back to my Reading Teacher roots…did I somehow forget that I am a reading teacher?
  • POETRY
  • Real Writing…” I wouldn’t want to write from the bottom of my shoes either “…Georgia Heard
  • Get a room and share it with friends
  • Laughing and talking with friends till midnight is good for  the soul
  • Kids need to read more and read better
  • Write about our lives…teach kids that their lives and their stories matter…write our stories together

The Colorado Council of the International Reading Association, CCIRA, puts on the best regional conference on reading.  Invited speakers are renowned experts and practitioners of literacy learning.  Many continue to teach in the  classroom while writing great books and presenting at great conferences.   I always come away from this conference with a renewed sense  of why I teach, and a commitment to  balance.

Leave a comment